Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 3: Did anyone say it would be easy?

I have just sat for almost an hour at my computer, but I don’t think I have written more than a couple of dozen words. Today, the writing juices are just not flowing. My muse has abandoned me. It’s not that I don’t know what I want to say, I just can’t find the words to say it in. When I was thinking in my head, about the scene I’m working on, everything seemed okey dorey. When I sat at the keyboard, all my happy thoughts fled, and instead of flying I found myself falling. Ah…well…you can’t flog a dead horse. I will give it one more try and then give up for the night.

‘Better to write twaddle, anything, than nothing at all.’ Katherine Mansfield

November 26, 2007 - Posted by | Unproductive. |

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Debi – enormously frustrating, isn’t it when everything seems to be just queueing up inside your head to come out before you sit down to write and then it won’t just gel on the screen? Annoying. And hard for you because you have so little time to write – you can’t just plough on and make it happen eventually…
    I’ll tell you what I did today when that was happening to me – I got the character whose voice i was working in to write what he thought of the story so far. And it worked!
    Hope it goes better tomorrow..

    Comment by Alis | November 26, 2007

  2. Excellent idea Alis, I will give that a try next time…and look, I’ve managed to put your comments on my post!!

    Comment by debisands | November 27, 2007


Leave a Reply

