Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 4: NaNoWriMo

This month is National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo takes place each November, and the aim is for amateur writers to write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days. Only fifteen percent of entrants actually finish their novel by the deadline, and the organisers freely admit that writing this way is ‘stupid’ and most of the finished novels are ‘rubbish’.  So? Is it worth the time and effort to abondon your life for a month and just write? Personally, if I decided to spend thirty solid days writing, I would try to produce the best writing I possibly could in the time given.

Anyway, talking of producing good writing, I have reworked the ‘twaddle’ of last night and approached that part of my story from a different angle. It means a slight diversion on the route my characters were taking, but they’re still heading in the right direction. So, tonight I can sleep easy knowing I’m back on track.

‘I think I may boast myself to be, with all possible vanity, the most unlearned and uninformed female who ever dared to be an authoress.’  Jane Austen

November 27, 2007 - Posted by | On Track |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

