Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 7, 8 & 9!!

The last few days I’ve been like a bear with a sore head: growling and grumbling at everyone…and the reason? I’ve had no time to write!

Friday: It was the Christmas Fayre at school today, this kept staff and children  busy from dawn til dusk (or so it seemed!): setting up stalls; making signs; endless trips up corridors carrying cakes, decorations, raffle prizes, etc etc …and…all the children in school paid a visit to Santa’s Grotto and were given a present from Father Christmas. So, helping out as I did – manning the book stall – it meant I left school far later than usual…and Friday night is food shopping night (ugh!). By the time I was settled for the evening it was gone nine o’clock and my brain was too befuddled to think of vampires and things that go bump in the night!

 Saturday: This is the only day I get to do some serious housework (another ugh!!), so I am  racing about: hover in one hand and duster in the other. Katy says I get OCD on Saturdays! And to make it more fun, this Saturday, we had Paul’s son and his girlfriend and The Mother-In-Law, all round for tea. After that I needed a long soak in a hot bath!…which again brought it round to nine 0’clock. And Saturday nights, is girlie night! It’s the one evening a week that me and Katy stay up late together, drinking wine, eating Dorito’s and watching a DVD. This week it was Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End…ahhhh….Johnny Depp….

Sunday: Today, despite the strong winds and drenching rain, me and Katy went out and bought our Christmas Tree from the local farm shop. I then spent all morning decorating it, and our lounge. Christmas music playing in the background. This I enjoyed. Then me, Katy and Paul, spent the afternoon and evening at my parents house. It was my dad’s birthday. Once again, did not settle down until gone nine o’clock!

Where did that weekend go?

‘Be like a duck. Calm on the surface, but always paddling like the dickens underneath.’ Michael Caine

December 2, 2007 - Posted by | Hectic days

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

