Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 17: Ebenezer Scrooge!

At school today I have been reading a child-friendly version of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, to the children. On one page there is a wonderful illustration Of Ebenezer Scrooge bent over his writing desk, nose almost on the paper, scribbling away with a feathered quill. There is no fire in the grate. His nose is red with cold, and he is wearing a pair of fingerless gloves. An icy mist hangs before his face.

That is how I feel at this precise moment. I am sooo cold. I am hunched up over my keyboard, nose about an inch from the computer monitor, tapping away with my little icy fingers. The heat in our house never quite seems to reach the landing. I’m almost certain my nose is red, and I’m sure my breath is hovering around my face.

Bah humbug!

December 10, 2007 - Posted by | On Track |

3 Comments »

  1. I want to say something amusing about suffering for your art but i know from experience there’s nothing amusing about being cold. I’ve got a fan heater you could borrow..?

    Comment by Alis | December 10, 2007

  2. Ahhh, thanks Alis. I’ve decided to set myself a quiet writing corner downstairs somewhere (in the warm), using my laptop!

    Comment by debisands | December 11, 2007

  3. A cup of tea and the fire in your heart should work (some) miracles… 🙂
    I’m glad to have found your other blog! 🙂 I admire your determination and your talent – I hope you’ll succeed!

    Comment by Vesper | December 12, 2007


Leave a Reply

