Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 26:

Another one of my chicks has flown the nest. On January 1st, my youngest son Bill, moved out of the family home. I knew it was coming; at twenty-four years of age he needed his own space,  his independance. The trouble is, I’ve never been one of those mums who hates having her children around her. I’ve always enjoyed the company of my kids – even now that my daughter is a stroppy fourteen year old, I still like and value having her with me – I’ve always loved the school holidays and sharing time with these fascinating (to me anyway) people.

My oldest son, Ben, moved out back in the summer…and now Bill’s gone too. At this moment of writing, Katy is spending the evening at her friends, so there’s only me and Paul in the house….and the two cats, who incidently are flying around the house, chasing each other, and Wolfie, our dog, who’s curled up asleep on his bed (keeping half an eye on the cats!).  Mmmm…a sign of things to come….

Today, being in a rather clumsy mood, I tripped over while walking down the stairs and managed to drop the box file that the MS of my novel was in. Somehow, one whole side of the box ripped off. A trip into town is now called for….I have this morbid fear that I will lose my story if I just put it in a ‘safe place’…I must get another file.

I have decided I am not going to make any resolutions this year. I never keep them. So…instead I have a goal….to write something, however small the amount, every day (which actually was my resolution/goal last year…and the year before that!).

January 3, 2008 - Posted by | On Track |

2 Comments »

  1. Excellent non-resolution Debi! Good luck with keeping it…

    Comment by Alis | January 5, 2008

  2. Thanks Alis 🙂

    Comment by debisands | January 6, 2008


Leave a Reply

