Aspirations from a Working Mum

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Day 30.

People never cease to amaze me. You think you know someone and then discover they have hidden depths you never could have guessed at. I have worked alongside a colleague for weeks…months even…only to find out two days ago that he too has a book simmering away on the back burner. He revealed that he has always enjoyed writing but has never really found  the time to give the art his full attention  (now doesn’t that sound familiar?). We sat down and had quite a little discussion about it. It was nice to talk about writing to someone that was genuinely interested, and not just feigning politeness, as I’m sure a lot of people I rabbit on to, do. He has asked me to read some of his work – which I took as a compliment- and tell him what I think; I must admit though, when people ask me that, I always feel a little daunted.

Today has been a good day, productive wise. I took the day off work to be with my daughter who is unwell with the flu, this meant I was able to spend a few hours tapping away at my keyboard….how I wish I could do this every day!

All our talents increase in the using, and every faculty, both good and bad, strengthens by exercise.   Anne Bronte

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | On Track |

2 Comments »

  1. I had the same feeling when I discovered that one of my coworkers has a published novel and another one is working on a theatre play. I wrote about it on my blog, in a post named “Perspective”. After getting past my shock, all that was left was a warm feeling of amazement and admiration.

    A few hours at your keyboard… (sigh) How I wish I could ever do that! 🙂

    Comment by Vesper | January 10, 2008

  2. It makes you wonder sometimes how many people out there, that you mix with each day, have a hidden talent.

    Comment by debisands | January 13, 2008


Leave a Reply

